Just turn me loose

dog-on-leash-150x150I heard a story recently about a dog, straining at his leash, barking ferociously at a cat about 15 feet away.  All of his actions just screamed, “Turn me loose, and I’m gonna make things happen.”  All of a sudden, in the midst of a powerful lunge, the leash snapped and the dog was free to go attack the cat.  But he looked astonished, frightened, actually terrified.  He quickly grabbed the leash, ran back to the torn section and lashed it together in a triple knot.  Then he could again safely scream, “If only you turned me loose you’d see what I am capable of.”

Every day I hear from people who have that leash around their neck:

  • If only I wasn’t trapped in this stinking job
  • If only I lived in Franklin, TN where I could hang out with Michael Hyatt, Dave Ramsey,Jon Acuff and Dan Miller
  • If only I had a college degree
  • If only I had the start up money for my awesome idea
  • If only I had known 20 years ago what I know now

Here’s the essence of the lesson for all of us:

When we’re ready to consider that we’ve created the obstacle, we’re also ready to consider the possibilities of being free.

I am thrilled to also hear from people every day who broke the leash and are doing extraordinary things – they whipped that cat and kept going.  Read how these folks broke the leash and did what they said they were going to do.

Andy Traub lives in Sioux Falls, SD.  Four years ago we talked about the possibilities of moving somewhere more conducive to an entrepreneurial spirit.  But Andy valued the family ties in Sioux Falls and decided to stay there.  Well, you’ve seen Andy’s contributions to the48 Days community since the very beginning.  You’ve heard his voice in hosting popular podcasts, seen him as a member of our Advisory Team, saw him launch his successful book – Early to Rise, and perhaps heard him and his family scream “We’re Debt Free” on the Dave Ramsey Show recently.  Needless to say, his life has changed dramatically in the last four years.  And now you can read all about it at Forbes.com – How One Man Wrote His Family Out Of Debt.  Congratulations Andy – you’re blazing a trail for all of us.

Terry, in Orlando, wrote:  “I started giving an extra 110%, all while focusing on the great aspects of my job instead of toxic negativity, which affected all areas of my life. Shortly thereafter, I unexpectedly received a 10% off-season raise. My manager said that I was bringing a lot of value to the project and I deserved a boost. Three months later, I received a stellar performance review with an additional 5% pay increase. Thanks for sharing your words of wisdom to help me turn my life around.”

Joseph from Beaverton, OR sent this note:  “I am an adult student, changing fields from construction to accounting. I am in my last year of school and am looking for an entry-level position in my new field. I bought and read your books, and have followed your system. I carefully researched 20 firms, sent out introduction letters, then several days later I sent out cover letters with resumes. Before I have had a chance to start calling them, I had two of them contact me for interviews, and after interviewing, received two job offers. I am excited to accept the second of the two offers; I believe it is exactly want I am looking for.”

Joshua from Warrenton, VA says: “Dear Dan, I just wanted to say thank you so much for your books and podcasts, I feel like I get to sit down and have coffee with you every Friday, I’ve been listening for the past 2.5 years :-)   I am a Farrier and thought I could never get out of this line of work, but thanks to listening to you I taught myself to be a software developer studying 21 hours every week for the past 7 months, I blogged about the entire journey 3 times per week.  I just launched my “Resume site” www.joshuakemp.net on May 23rd to try and get hired and have already received 2 job offers with many other possible opportunities!”

Success doesn’t depend on geography, past history or the economy.  What is the leash that’s really holding you back?  What would you need to do to break free and whip that cat?

Article source : 48days.com/2013/06/18/just-turn-me-loose/

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment